Make an Appointment: 856-834-3709 |   [email protected]

  • What’s Your Love Language?

    Love languages are one way that we can understand the dynamics in our relationships. A love language is the way in which individuals express appreciation, love, and warmth for others. Different people give and receive love in different ways. Acts of Service, Gift-Giving, Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, and Physical Touch are the different types of love languages. Often, conflict and misunderstanding can occur in relationships when partners are not valuing or understanding each other’s love languages. Seeking therapy services near you to help understand your own love language and the love language of your partner can help foster positive connection in your relationship.

    Below are the 5 love languages –  which one do you relate to most?

    Acts of Service

    For people with this love language, actions speak louder than words. If you feel most loved when a partner goes out of their way to help you, make your life easier, or take something off your to-do list, this may be your primary love language.

    Gift Giving

    A gift can symbolize thoughtfulness, understanding, and love. If you feel most touched by a partner who brings home a special treat or whose birthday gifts are thoughtful and personal, Gift-Giving may be your love language.

    Quality Time

    Actively spending time with your partner is a must for individuals with the Quality Time love language. Quality Time might be your love language, if you feel happiest when having deep talks with your partner, engaging in relaxation with them, or sharing hobbies together.

    Words of Affirmation

    Hearing expressions of gratitude, compliments, or frequent “I love you’s” are a top priority for individuals with this love language. If you feel most connected when you’re communicating, Words of Affirmation may be your love language.

    Physical Touch

    Love can be felt through cuddling, hugs, or physical intimacy. Physical Touch may be your love language, if you feel closest to your partner when engaged in physical connection with them.

    If you identify with one of these love languages, talk with your partner about it! Understanding and exploring love languages can be a great way to improve the way you express love in your relationship!

    If you’re struggling with expressing, receiving, or communicating love with your partner, couples counseling may help! If you’re interested in talking with a licensed therapist near you about other ways to improve your relationship, call Mind, Body, & Soul Therapy and Counseling at (856) 834-3709.